Vil du bli radiodokumentarist?

Den europeiske konkurransen Åke Blomström Award gir unge talenter mulighet til å gjennomføre sin første radiodokumentar.

Poster Åke Blomström Award

Send inn en søknad med en egenpresentasjon innspilt som en lydfil. (Se den engelske utlysningsteksten nedenfor for detaljer.)
Åke Blomström Award ønsker å gi unge talenter mulighet til å delta på workshops og få coaching. Man får dekket reise og opphold til International Feature Conference i Praha i mai 2018 og Prix Europa i Berlin i oktober hvis man blir plukket ut.
Deltakere skal være under 35 år og uetablerte som radiodokumentarister.

Podkasten Radiodok (Radiodokumentaren) er del av organisasjonen bak Åke Blomström-stipendet. Det er et mål med opplegget at det kan munne ut i en radiodokumentar som kan publiseres av NRK. En egen kontrakt vil i så fall inngås om dette. Radiodok kan også være behjelpelig med utlån av teknisk utstyr.

Fristen er 19. januar 2018.
Her er utlysningsteksten:


Dear Colleagues,
The Åke Blomström Award offers to young and promising radio feature makers the chance to attend a special documentary training program, to join the International Feature Conference and to participate in the Prix Europa 2018.
The Award addresses young radio talents who are at the beginning of their career as feature makers. We are explicitly looking for feature makers with great potential rather than for those who already have much experience and expertise.

Each of the winners will be assigned a personal coach who will mentor them in documentary making throughout the year. The winners will attend a two-day coaching session in Prague on 19th & 20th May 2018, immediately before the start of the International Feature Conference (IFC) which will be held from 20th to 24th of May 2018 at the same location. All coaches are award winning radio producers from all over Europe.

The prize money will cover travel, accommodation and daily allowances during the two-day training course and the visit of the IFC. At the IFC, the Åke Blomström Award winners will meet experienced feature makers from all over the world, will listen to and discuss a broad range of inspiring radio documentary programs and will attend workshops and seminars on radio documentary making.
After the IFC, the winners will work online with their coaches in order to produce a documentary of approximately 30 minutes by the 1st of February 2019.

On 12th October 2018, one day before Prix Europa starts, the winners will attend an one-day training in Berlin as well as the Radio Documentary Jury session of Prix Europa (13 – 19th October 2018). The prize money will cover travel cost, accommodation and a daily allowance.

After the Prix Europa, the winners will continue to work online with their coaches. Each radio documentary should be accomplished by 1st of February 2019.

Who is eligible for an Åke Blomström Award?

• Any young and promising feature maker aged max 35 years from Europe (East and West).
• Freelance producers or employees of broadcasting organizations.
• The working language of the IFC and Prix Europa is English.
• The award cannot be given to feature makers who have previously been awarded the Åke Blomström Award.

Entry Requirements

Please note:
Each submission should be made by an individual feature maker. Group entries are not acceptable.

The following should be sent to Gabriela Hermer, chairperson of the selection committee:
• A short CV including date of birth, education and radio experience to date
• A summary of why the candidate wishes to undertake the documentary training/mentoring
• A 5 min creative audio presentation where the candidates will explain with their own voice in English to the selection committee their motivation, expectation, and experience in radio (preferably in wav or mp3 format). Excerpts from their former programs can be used. (No author may submit more than one audio presentation.)

• A complete transcript/translation of the audio presentation in English.
(Candidates must be aware that an English translation of the script for the production will be necessary.)
• A treatment for a documentary the candidate wishes to propose for the training/mentoring process (max. one page).

Please send all documents (audio and written documents) via wetransfer to
All documents must be clearly named with “ABA” (Åke Blomström Award) and with the name of the author.

The closing date for the entry of submissions for the 2018 Åke Blomström Award is 19th of January 2018. In order for a submission to be considered, you should send the materials listed above by the closing date.
The selection committee will reach its decisions by 23rd of February 2018. On that date all entrants will be notified of the result. If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact me by e-mail or telephone.
Best wishes,

Gabriela Hermer
Chairperson, Åke Blomström Award
Tel.: 0049-30-97993-33504

Selection committee 2018

Gabriela Hermer
Kulturradio vom RBB
Künstlerisches Wort / Feature
Berlin , Germany

Tim Desmond
RTE Radio 1

Ingo Kottkamp
Deutschlandfunk Kultur
Berlin, Germany

Kjetil Hansen
NRK Radio Dokumentar

Poster Åke Blomström Award

The prize was established in 1986 in honour of Åke Blomström (31/12/1931 – 31/5/1985), for many years Head of Documentaries in Swedish Radio and deeply committed to the support of young and fresh talents. Today, the Åke Blomström Award is a joint venture between SR (Sweden), DR (Denmark), YLE (Finland), NRK (Norway), Dlf Kultur Berlin, NDR, RBB, SWR,WDR (Germany), ORF (Austria), BRT (Belgium), HRT (Croatia) and RTÉ (Ireland) who together sustain the prize by means of an annual donation into a bank account held under the aegis of the EBU.